New HTML5 mobile game based on an old 8-bit classic

I’m currently developing a simple driving game that takes its lead from Spy Hunter.
The format is simple. You steer a car through a cascading landscape with a varying sized road as your boundary.
If you strike the verge your car slows dramatically. If you collect the flags or hit a booster your car speeds up permanently or temporarily depending on which item you struck.
To counter the boosts you lose all your speed or spin to a stop if you hit balloons or an oil slick !
Initially I designed it to be a kind of James Bond road race much like Spy Hunter but I since decided against it. Just now it’s a lot like a rally game but I rather like the idea of out-running the police amongst other things.

great_american_cross-country_road_race_03.gif

The Great American Cross Country Road Race

As a kid I played The Great American Cross Country Road Race to death on my Atari 800XL. I’ll bet it’s still an awesome game to play and is certainly helping me to create a fun game just now.

When there’s a bit more to see I’ll post up a link and some screens.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

