New game – old game: HyperGunner

I’ve been very busy this last few days turning Wizard Wars in to a vertical scrolling shooter.
It was very easy. Some things cropped up en route that I thought were worth a mention.

When I designed Wizard Wars I made sure that the pipeline was simple. That is, I define the images and animation specifics in the code and then I’m free to go off in to Photoshop to create some sprites. I wanted to be in a position where I could comfortably hit F5 and see my new artwork in an instant. (Chrome’s inexplicable caching aside this has been fine)

Lifting the Wizard code and turning things around a bit wasn’t so much of a challenge. I implemented some simple stars that varied in shades of grey and had them tumble down the screen at varying speeds to give that oh-so-familiar starfield depth impression. I also lifted the sprites from Invaders from Mars and had them shift across the screen whilst the player shuffled his laser cannon back and to taking shots etc etc.

Making Space Invader style games is easy. I got bored of it almost instantly.

So I shelved it and went off to play a few classic shoot-em ups in MAME.
Giga Wing, Esp RaDe, Don Pachi, Loop Master… they’re all up there in my favourite list. I played them all to death.

When I got back to my own game I realised that it was all very pedestrian and lacking in colour and depth.

So I changed the image files for most things to create richer colours.
It was whilst I was adjusting the star sprites that I realised I was doing it wrong.

All I wanted from the stars was the impression of space. I could achieve this with the simple drawing of dots / lines.
I’d draw lines and shapes on the canvas before so I changed the code and hey presto I had a starfield made up of very short lines instead of graphics. I also used context.fillStyle = “rgba(r,g,b,a)” to create some colours mathematically and with varying amounts of alpha.
Not only did I have a nice colourful starfield and some added performance I also had more control. So I played with the numbers.

I’m drawing my stars using context.fillRect(x,y,w,h).
By adjusting the width and height values I could achieve a sense of hyperspace. I also increased the amount which the stars move down the screen. This changed everything. I now realised that I had a game that would be played at pace. Even if the foreground aliens, bombs, lasers etc were moving fairly slow the background pace would make the whole thing seem pretty rapid. I loved the effect. So much so that I made hyperspace one of the mini goals of the game.

Whilst the game was in its infancy I also took the time to play with the drawing.
My initial concern was that the clearRect() method was killing performance.
So I tried a newer method: g.canvas.width = g.canvas.width;
There was no improvement.
I also went to the trouble of calculating the empty spaces left by each sprite and only re-drawing those areas on every tick. When I got the code right (it was very untidy to begin with – stray pixels here and there) it worked well but there was no real gain in frames.
The biggest boost I could find was transfering the actual drawing from using HTML Images  to primitive canvas shapes – in this case rectangles. Whereas previously I had 100 + star images cascading down the screen I now have 100+ shapes being drawn.

Google’s Chrome has easily the best performance so far. Running flat out at 250 FPS.
Firefox is the poorest at around 80 – 100 FPS flat out.
But even then the game plays very well across all browsers.

I hope to put a link up soon.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

