Hoth Strike – more information

The rebels are fleeing Hoth in spades. Skywalker has long since departed for Dagobah and Solo et al are off in to the depths of space. Meanwhile, back on the snowy wastes below remote rebel outposts are under attack as their faithful soldiers try desperately to track back to the base and join the evacuation.

The Imperial AT-AT walkers have increased in numbers and are almost certain to destroy the rebel base once and for all.
There is no time to lose if you are to rescue your comrades and make that last rebel carrier to freedom.

You climb in to your modified Snowspeeder, strap your helmet and comm line in and yank the thrust lever. Before you lies an intense battle but those are your comrades out there. You are their only hope.

I wrote this brief introduction to Hoth Strike when I first decided on the project and have it handy as I’m working on the game. I find it serves as a real inspiration as I’m clunking through sprite movement code and the more challenging aspects of collision detection.

I recently bought a couple of Atari 2600 game manuals off eBay. What I always loved about those games was the intro stories. The one that sticks out for me by far is Asteroids. There was a real sense of “I could make a difference” and “my God it’s HELL out there”. I always loved the fact that I had a laser cannon on the game and I could physically make a difference by blasting everything to hell.

I have tried to portray that same sense of wonder and excitement in my own story. By deliberately setting the action right after the events in the movie I also hope to appeal to Star Wars geeks ;) (of which I am clearly one)

So far the game hasn’t presented too many real challenges. Much of the action code is borrowed from Invaders whilst the newer features are merely extensions of what was already written. The scrolling landscape was surprisingly easy to assemble since they are just 2 sets of duplicated sprites that wrap.

I will begin to document more on this game as it progresses and have updated the worklog and game versions pages on this site.

I hope it’s as enjoyable to read and play as it is to create.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Skofo  On April 13, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    Best of luck! =D

  • Joker  On April 15, 2009 at 6:26 am

    Hello,
    Thank you! I would now go on this blog every day!

    Have a nice day
    Joker

Leave a Reply

