My next JavaScript arcade game – a visual clue

Designing sprites in Photoshop
A few months back I updated this blog to suggest that I was working on a new JavaScript arcade game. The game was tentatively called Mutant Mayhem and was a deliberate exercise in using multi-directional full screen scrolling. To cut a long story short I hadn’t any faith in the design. I knew I wanted Atari’s Gauntlet but for some reason I was ending up with a half baked bargain bucket game that had no real point.

I revamped the game engine and came up with a side scrolling game which I called Super Copter. Super Copter really pushed me for the design since I was determined to maintain my “hit the fire button as much as you want” ethos on design. I just thought the entire thing was a bit naff and was struggling to get excited about designing military sprites. It’s just not me.

So finally with the Easter break upon us I decided to allocate some time to the project to give it a final push to completion.
I’m pleased to say that the design is fixed and the style is coming along just nice. For the game’s design I have “borrowed” from Jeff Minter and one of my favourite movies.

I thought I would offer a visual clue with the screenshot above. It is of my latest Photoshop session and you can see I am in the process of assembling and animating a key sprite.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Echolocating  On April 12, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Well, the name of this site is Rebel Ideas. ;-)

    Good going with the Star Wars theme. That franchise is screaming for fun, quality retro gaming. Everything is 3D this and 3D that… boring!

    A little off topic… I ‘ve been reading most of your ideas for balancing fun and keeping the pace hectic and think a lot of those gems could spill over into other genres nicely. Just curious if you have any interest or plans for other types of retro gaming.

  • markw1970  On April 12, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    Hello again !
    Just now my main focus is on recreating the shoot em ups that I loved as a kid. My first attempt was a B-movie inspired Space Invaders and the next one, Hoth Strike, is an Empire Strikes Back inspired Defender.
    Once that is done (hopefully in the next few weeks) I would like to take a look at a top down game such as Gauntlet which is essentially a better looking Berserk. I have a ton of ideas for a game in that genre.

    Are you a game designer / coder ?

  • Echolocating  On April 12, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    No, just an enthusiast who comes from a wide range of experiences in software and website development. Right now, I’m in the early planning stages for an online RPG (NetHack inspired) and that’s how I stumbled across your site. When I get something going, I’ll be sure to share.

    Seriously, get that book published. Your site is already a great source of inspiration and I’d imagine a book would blow a few minds.

  • markw1970  On April 14, 2009 at 10:28 am

    NetHack intruiges me. I’ve never seen that before but its apparent simplicity appeals to me. I’d be interested in throwing some ideas around with you on the subject of RPG games if you get time. Despite being an arcade gamer at heart I confess there’s something romantic about creating a persistent world and sensibly populating it with different races.

    Please send me a link when you have something to show.

  • Robert Schultz  On May 2, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    That UFO object reminds me of something from SimCity 2000 :)

Leave a Reply

