Invaders from Mars in an “Amazing” list of JavaScript games

Well I checked my stats on WordPress for a change and noticed the following incoming link: http://webresourcesdepot.com/25-amazing-javascript-games-some-fun-and-inspiration/

There’s a good deal of fine JavaScript games on there including the fantastic DHTML Lemmings that I remember from several years back.

To see IFM listed like this makes me a very happy game designer :-)

One of the titles that stood out for me was ProtoRPG which appears to adopt a similar design to one that I’ve had myself knocking around for a few years.
In all my games I try and employ a simple arcade theme and style of play and this RPG does the same. It’s simple to use and most satisfying in that your on screen chap responds well to your input. For the most part this is 95% of the battle in creating a good game.

I recently bought Dungeon Siege – Throne of Agony for my PSP (I also bought SNK Arcade Classics Vol.1 in the same trip) and I have to say that playing it puts me in the right frame of mind for crafting something similar in JavaScript. The simple action and super responsive controls coupled with the lovely on-screen characters and action just demands that you become immersed in it. So much in Throne of Agony reminds me of the classic arcade games of old which ties in nicely with my playing Neo-Geo games on the same system.

I desperately need an angle and some focus for my Mutant Mayhem game and I think that an Arcade RPG might just have enough in it for me. I’m a sucker for Fantasy Adventures and hack n’ slash action so I may start scribbling some character designs and seeing how they turn out on screen.

Finally, I get a steady stream of emails asking about my sprite creation. It seems that my short post about Creating Sprites in Photoshop wasn’t enough for some people. It actually wasn’t intended to be a tutorial.
So I aim to write something a bit more detailed in the coming weeks. I spent a few years creating GameBoy Advance sprites for software houses so I’ll do my best to dredge it all up again.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • ricky  On February 12, 2009 at 5:21 am

    hii… thanks for your info brother..

Leave a Reply

