Hoth Strike completed

hothstrike-beta1

Well I’m happy enough for this game to be called finished. I may tweak it a little in the future but for now it’s a pretty intense and (I think) rewarding game.
I’ve deliberately left the code un-obfuscated so that people can see how I constructed the game. Warning! It’s not pretty since despite my best intentions to write perfect JavaScript I wound up just cobbling the code together to get a game out.

Future games will make better use of global namespaces and JSON, for example.

CLICK TO PLAY THE GAME

I hope you enjoy playing the game as much as I did crafting it :-)

MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU

ps. my top score just now is 58,850.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Michael  On June 14, 2009 at 7:06 am

    This is similar to Aquatron on the Apple ][, except it doesn’t put your ship at the other end of the screen when turning like yours.

    Its rewarding to see an old-school side-scroller shooter. Gratz on making it fun. (Just need to tweak the turning about 180, and it would be perfect.)

  • David  On June 14, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Did you see this on reddit?

    http://www.reddit.com/r/programming/comments/8sbpe/guy_just_finished_the_most_ambitious_javascript/

    Or were you the one who posted it there ;)

    • markw1970  On June 14, 2009 at 7:48 am

      Thanks David. I wasn’t aware of the post. Seems like a real mixed bag of comments. Thankfully I’m far too long in the tooth to be upset by howitzer style forum threads :)

      • Skofo  On June 14, 2009 at 8:44 am

        Heyo, I submitted it. I just felt that you weren’t getting enough attention for all the work you were doing. I’ve dabbled in JavaScript before, and after that experience I could never imagine creating something as big as this. I think that this is very impressive code-wise.

        Game design wise, I agree with the notions in the reddit thread. The biggest thing that bothered me was the fact that the ship zips across the screen, crashing into any enemies between point A and B. The lack of [easy-to-find] instructions gave off a really old-school game feel, but that kind of turned me off as well.

        However, as it stands, this is the most impressively coded and ambitious JavaScript game I’ve seen.

  • Robert  On June 14, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Awesome game. It reminds me of Defender for the Atari 2600.

    Don’t listen to the critics. I am amazed at how well this game plays.

  • omina  On June 14, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Interesting games! :)

  • Nja  On June 14, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Perhaps you should give the ship a few seconds of invulnerability at the start. It is a bit frustrating if your ship starts directly in the path of an enemy

    • markw1970  On June 14, 2009 at 5:11 pm

      I thought I’d done that. Maybe it’s not long enough. I’ll take a look.

  • thepenks  On June 15, 2009 at 5:11 am

    haha… “may the force be with you”… star wars huh… i like star wars game, jedi knight.. is awesome.. how do you think?

Trackbacks

  • By Top Posts « WordPress.com on June 15, 2009 at 12:44 am

    [...] Hoth Strike completed Well I’m happy enough for this game to be called finished. I may tweak it a little in the future but for now [...] [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

